Famous cellist, Francisco Vila is the guest at Cuenca Symphony Concert

Cuenca, October 12, 2021.- The Symphony Orchestra of Cuenca, under the baton of Master Augusto Carrión Rodas, presents a new face-to-face concert in his second season 2021, this Friday, October 15 at 8 PM, in the church of Santo Domingo (Father Aguirre and Gran Colombia, Corner).

The event will have the participation of the famous Ecuadorian cellist resident in the United States, Francisco Vila and the repertoire consists of the following works:

Gioacchino Rossini’s The Thieving Magpie, variations of a theme in A Major, op. 33 for Violoncello and Orchestra by Piotr Ilich Tchaikovsky, and Maurice Ravel’s Bolero.
The overture of the Gazza barks (La Mérraca Ladrona). Opera in two acts premiered in 1817, has been used in movies and advertising of varied kinds, as in the Clockwork Orange by Kubrick in 1972.

Variations on a Rococo theme in A Major, op. 33 for violoncello and orchestra. It is a work composed in 1876. It is classically cut and it is believed that Tchaikovsky composed it, and dedicated to cellist Wilhelm Fitzenhagen, professor at the Moscow Conservatory, who premiered it in that same city on November 30, 1877.
Bolero de Maurice Ravel. The bolero which inspired the title of Ravel’s work is a 3/4 dance that originated in Spain at the end of the 18th century. The orchestral work of a single movement of Ravel was originally called Fandango, but as it had rhythmic similarities with the form of Spanish dance 3/4, he changed its name to Bolero. It is one of the most famous musical pieces of the French composer Maurice Ravel.

Francisco Vila – Violoncellista began playing the cello at age 8 and debuted as a soloist with orchestra at 14. His concert activities have been in Europe, North and South America. Vila received a presidential scholarship for the Boston Conservatory for his Bachelor’s Studies, after which he received a Diploma of Performance from the University of Indiana, where he was a student of Janos Starker, Sharon Robinson and Menahem Pressler.

The entrance is free up to the capacity allowed by the cantonal COE (75%) and fulfilling all biosecurity measures.

The Cuenca Symphony Orchestra makes available to the public its digital concert hall on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/sinfonicaCuenca where they can find most of the concerts presented so far since 2020.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on print
Repost - Renew